Pocono Mountain Water Forest

Community Association

Happy Holidays To All


No matter which holiday you might celebrate we wish you a wonderful holiday season.
From your friends at,
Pocono Mountain Water Forest Community Association

Thanksgiving 2021

Thanksgiving in the United States has been observed on differing dates. From the time of the Founding Fathers until the time of Lincoln, the date of observance varied from state to state. The final Thursday in November had become the customary date in most U.S. states by the beginning of the 19th century, coinciding with, and eventually superseding the holiday of Evacuation Day (commemorating the day the British exited the United States after the Revolutionary War).[29] Modern Thanksgiving was proclaimed for all states in 1863 by Abraham Lincoln. Influenced by Sarah Josepha Hale, who wrote letters to politicians for approximately 40 years advocating an official holiday, Lincoln set national Thanksgiving by proclamation for the final Thursday in November in celebration of the bounties that had continued to fall on the Union and for the military successes in the war, also calling on the American people, "with humble penitence for our national perverseness and disobedience .. fervently implore the interposition of the Almighty hand to heal the wounds of the nation..."[30] Because of the ongoing Civil War, a nationwide Thanksgiving celebration was not realized until Reconstruction was completed in the 1870s.
On October 31, 1939, President Franklin D. Roosevelt signed a presidential proclamation changing the holiday to the next to last Thursday in November, for business reasons.[31] On December 26, 1941, he signed a joint resolution of Congress changing the national Thanksgiving Day to the fourth Thursday in November.[32]

Daylight Saving Time 2021

When does DST end, clocks fall back? Daylight Savings Time explainedBAU4BL3BRJCDXBFFFBI6XJ6RRU
Daylight Saving Time ends on Sunday, Nov. 7, 2021

The end of Daylight Saving Time for 2021 arrives Sunday morning when we turn our clocks back an hour.
Daylight Saving Time, sometimes incorrectly called by the plural Daylight Savings Time, concludes at 2 a.m. on Sunday, Nov. 7, 2021, when the clock will “fall back” one hour and in theory we get one extra hour of sleep. Days continue to get shorter — Oct. 28 was the first time since March 10 that the sun set before 6 p.m — until the winter solstice starts on Dec. 22.
What does it mean when Daylight Saving time ends? Clocks get turned back one hour. Clocks officially “fall back” at 2 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time, on the first Sunday in November to 1 a.m. Eastern Standard Time.
When did Daylight Saving Time begin? Daylight Saving Time started on Sunday, March 14, 2021 and will end on Sunday, Nov. 7, 2021 — a run of 238 days. It has begin the second Sunday in March and lasts until the first Sunday in November since 2007.
When does Daylight Saving Time start and end in 2022? We next turn the clocks ahead on March 13, 2022 — 126 days after turning them back. Daylight Saving Time in 2022 will end on Nov. 6, 2022.
Who invented daylight saving and what is its history? English architect William Willett first proposed the idea to change the clocks in 1907 when he published The Waste of Daylight. It is believed that Willett’s idea arose from an epiphany he had that “the sun shines upon the land for several hours each day while we are asleep, and is rapidly nearing the horizon, having already passed its western limit, when we reach home after the workday is over.” He pitched the idea to Parliament in 1908, but it was ultimately disregarded.
In 1916, Germany became the first country to institute Daylight Saving Time — using it to conserve fuel during World War I. The U.S. began turning clocks forward and back in 1918 but it wasn’t nearly universal until 1966 when Congress enacted the Uniform Time Act. Daylight Saving Time ran from the first Sunday in April to the last Sunday in October from from 1997-2006. The following year it was lengthened by several weeks to its current form.

Clocks will be turned back from 2 a.m. to 1 a.m on Sunday, Nov. 7. 2021.The Associated Press
What states don’t observe Daylight Saving Time? Hawaii and most of Arizona do not observe Daylight Saving Time. The time change is also not observed in U.S. territories of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Five states (Alabama, Georgia, Minnesota, Mississippi and Montana) have enacted legislation to make Daylight Saving Time permanent. Those changes, however, require federal approval. Others also have bills pending in state legislatures